Skip to content

Legal operation. Yagasu was established as a Non-Government Organization (NGO) at the public notary “Risna Rahmi Arifa, SH” in Medan on July 17, 2001 (“Akte No 7”). Adjusted to the new Indonesian Foundation Law, the “Yayasan” was registered under the name of “Yayasan Gajah Sumatera (Yagasu) Aceh at the Public Notary “Sabaruddin Salam, S.H., SpN on 11 May 2006 (“Akte No. 81”) and it was certified by the Decree of Ministry of Law and Human Right Republic of Indonesia No. C-1192.HT.01.02.TH2007.

“Legal Operation

The mission of Yagasu is to increase environmental carrying capacity and safeguards of mangrove/coastal- and watershed ecosystems for climate change mitigation and adaptation, biodiversity conservation, natural disaster risk reduction and green livelihood improvement.

 Working Principles

  • Address the priority actions that are urgently needed in the field, where there is a total lack of- or in-sufficient support from other organizations
  • Respect the traditional and local cultural values, and remain politically neutral.
  • Work through partnerships with individuals and institutions at local, national, and international levels.
  • Work closely with local stakeholders such as local communities, government institutions, NGOs and private sectors; and build local capacity as needed.
  • Monitor and measure the outputs of each project and activity and adjust the implementation to optimize results.

 Strategic Program

  • Facilitate the presence of unified, inclusive, and active environmental and community development networks; and build shared their local knowledge base.
  • Generate government policy supports and public mandates for the necessary policies and actions to conduct integrated climate change mitigation and adaptation, environmental program, and community development.
  • Conduct scientific findings and build partnering networks with global scientists, government agencies, and other local stakeholders on the field programs that are designed to tackle the local problem-solution issues in surrounding project areas and improve the health and welfare of local socio-cultural-economic growth.
  • Conduct awareness and facilitation which include the programs and activities to revitalize “the revival” of local community capacity and to build common heritage, identity, and social visions for community development. The target of awareness activities is to establish a more positive external image of local stakeholders that is necessary to attract local, national, and international supports.
  • Mobilize local community groups to restore degraded- and conserve existing mangrove-, coastal- and watershed ecosystems for carbon emission reduction, natural disaster prevention, biodiversity conservation, and sustainable living income.
  • Facilitate income generation of local communities that include sustainable program design, value chain and projects to support the development of social business on climate label services and premium organic

Indonesia is a member party of the UNFCCC (United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change) since August 1994. The country has ratified the UNFCCC in 1995, the Kyoto Protocol in 2004, and has signed the Paris Agreement in 2015. Our program is consistent with GOI’s national regulatory and legal framework as stipulated in:


Yagasu project operations are mostly conducted in the community lands (non-state forests). Each Yagasu project is implemented by the local Community Group based on the 20 years Agreement (MoU) that is approved by the Village Government. Yagasu has also signed Legal Agreement (MoU) with Ministry of Village – Republic of Indonesia and Provincial Governments to legalize project implementation in their jurisdiction areas.

Contact us for an example of Agreement documents.

Plantation de palétuviers à Lambaro Najib

“Legal Backgrounds

Yagasu’s program is consistent with international agreements and GOI’s national regulatory and legal framework as stipulated in:
  1. UNFCCC (United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change) treaty signed in 1992.
  2. Paris Agreement on Climate Change, adopted in 2015.
  3. Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) adopted by the United Nations in 2015.
  4. Indonesian Law No. 5 Year 1990 about Conservation of Biological Nature Resource and Its Ecosystem
  5. Indonesian Law No. 5 Year 1994 on Ratification of United Nations Convention concerning Biological Diversity.
  6. Indonesian Law No. 23 Year 1997 regarding Environment Management
  7. Indonesian Law No. 13/2012 about Poverty Management
  8. Indonesian Law No. 27 Year 2007 on Management of Coastal Areas and Small Islands
  9. Presidential Decree No 98 Year 2021 on Carbon Economic of Green-house Gas Program in Indonesia.
  10. Ministry Regulation on Carbon Trade in Indonesia.

Project Management.

The Yagasu operational team consists of management- and project staff, field officers, advisory boards, external national- and international consultants, local stakeholders/village liaisons, volunteers and field supporting persons from government- and local NGO partners. Administrative and financial systems are managed based on the Project Management Manual that meet international standards of accounting and transparency.


West zone office:  

Jalan Sei Batu Gingging No. 69, Kel. PB Selayang I, Kec. Medan Selayang Medan 20131 INDONESIA, Telephone 62-61-4503773 

East zone office

Jalan KH Malik No. 50 A Buring – Malang 65132, INDONESIA, Telephone 62-341-7410010

Yayasan Gajah Sumatera © Copyright 2001 – 2023